A tribute to men that think

Monday night, I sat on the couch with my knees bent and a skein of Baruffa Cashwool stretched around them, winding the skein by hand (because the Coast Guard doesn’t have knitting allotments for the purchase of yarn, needles, swifts, and ball winders).  For those of you who have not had the pleasure of knitting with Cashwool, it is absolutely amazing and impossible to think that it is 100% wool.  Baruffa Cashwool has the feel of cashmere and a shine comparable to silk.  A truly luxurious yarn at a price that will make your jaw drop because it is actually affordable and has substantial yardage, $14 for nearly 1500 yards.

But, it’s that last part that had me glued to the couch last night, for four hours and I’m only half way through the skein.  Mr. Yarn Bearer didn’t think it would take as long as it has to wind up that beast of a skein.  After the first hour, he came and sat next to me and realized what “lace weight” looks like and how I had hardly made a dent in the skein.  Mr. Yarn Bearer then disappeared for a while, quite a while, actually. 

When he reappeared, Mr. Yarn Bearer casually said this, “Your swift will be here in two days.”  I think I almost snapped the yarn, it came as such a shock.  Not only did Mr. Yarn Bearer order me a swift, he ordered me a nice swift.  I wished I could have educated him about the importance of a ball winder, too, but at least my hips will stay in their sockets from now on.

Thank you, Jeremey, there is no other man on this earth that will ever understand my fiber habit and be willing to contribute to it.

Leave a Reply

