Gypsy Swallowtail Shawl

After a long weekend of beach bumming and pool side diversion, I’m surprised that I actually finished a project.  Honestly, making the Swallowtail Shawl was not nearly as fun as I had hoped it would have been.  The results are fantastic, however, the process was just a little monotonous for my tastes.  But here she is…

 

Start:  March 25, 2008

Finished:  May 27, 2008 (This was another pre-op knitting nervosa episode)

Pattern:  Swallowtail Shawl by Evelyn A. Clark (Interweave Knits Fall 2006 and available on Interweave Knits’ and the designer’s websites)

Yarns:  Schaefer Yarns Laurel in colorway Catherine the Great (which is also my hero, wee) and Tahki Yarns Cotton Classic II in Black

Needles:  US 7 36″ circular

Mods:  Nadda

Mr. Yarn Bearer calls this one my “gypsy” shawl because of the colors, which he likes.  I like them, too, but the Laurel only comes in 400 yard hanks and I knew I’d run out toward the end.  Thankfully, there was a single skein of the Cotton Classic II in my stash and I really think that this project looks better with the black edging.  I almost skipped the Lily of the Valley chart 2 to conserve yarn, but I’m glad I just went with it.

Speaking of the Lily of the Valley charts, those were vexing.  Not in a difficult sort of way, but in the heavily mercerized cotton not being at all springy sort of way.  I had to replace the p5tog with a sl 4, k1, psso, which holds a close resemblance.  I’ll live.

I do love this pattern with the worsted weight yarns instead of lace.  And the cotton will more use, here in Savannah, than wool or alpaca ever would.  This would actually be a very lovely beach cover-up, wrapped around the waist, I’ll let you know how that works out.

One thought on “Gypsy Swallowtail Shawl

Leave a Reply

