Bayberry Hat

What a relief it is to have finished a knitting project, and even more so that I was able to knit from my new book afterall.  I found some stray skeins hiding out in some boxes and after some quick calculations and a few yarn searches, I concluded that there was ample yardage to make this hat.

The hat turned out a little larger than I had anticipated, but the Telemark is sport weight whereas the recommended yarn is closer to fingering weight.  Eh, whatever.  I’ll live.  Here are a few more details:

Pattern:  Uh, well, I’m still working on the translation.  But it came from the Japanese book Simple Knit Wardrobe (I’ve also seen it deciphered as Easy Knit Wardrobe).  For now, it’s the Bayberry Hat.

Yarn:  Knit Picks’ Telemark in Bayberry, two skeins.

Needles/Hooks:  (2) US 3 16″ circular needles and 3.5 mm crochet hook.

There were two more skeins of the Telemark in Lichen, which are currently being transformed into an additional hat for my SIL.  This hat is so quick, I see a last-minute gift tradition brewing already.  Imagine a baby version…  AW!  Sigh.  A friend is pregnant (and a cousin, but we already know that one is a boy) and will, hopefully, be spying that X or Y chromosome soon.

 

I’m routing for a XX just so I can make another hat.

One thought on “Bayberry Hat

  1. I just adore this hat! I saw it on ravelry while searching through the Slouchy cardigan project’s file. I am going to start mine soon and wanted to check out what others have done. Glad to find your blog…happy knitting or pining over the Japanese book which ever happens..it’s all good!

Leave a Reply

