What I’ve learned on Ravelry

Raveler since October 15, 2007

Yup, that’s me.  I was just sitting here thinking about the past few years I’ve spent as a member of Ravelry.  I’ve learned a few things that I would like to share with you:

  • Every time the word “copyright” is written in the Big 6, someone has an aneurysm.
  • Patterns with lengthy, extraneous titles don’t usually live up to them.  Throw together a garter stitch scarf in Red Heart Super Saver and then get fairy-fucking-tastic with the name of the pattern.  Start with something like “Lady of the” and add an adjective like “enchanted” or “mystic”, followed by a location such as “forest”, “sea”, “wood”, or “truck stop shit house”.  Get creative with it.  Then add a $7 price tag.  Pat yourself on the back because you’re a professional now!
  • Disagree (1)?  DEAL WITH IT.
  • There are about ten times more knitted/crocheted penises than vagina.
  • Knitted/crocheted bathing suits = instant camel toe.
  • Does anyone buy any of those dishcloth patterns?!?!???
  • Now, I really want to design something that I can name “Lady of the Enchanted Truck Stop Shit House”.
  • Disagree (176)?  You’re probably an asshole.
7 thoughts on “What I’ve learned on Ravelry

  1. I can’t believe I just paid for 2 scarf crochet patterns from etsy that were basically a basic stitch for the whole thing. The thing that kills me even more is the personal use only copyright. Are you kidding?

    Noone could actually be buying the dishcloth patterns.

  2. When you design the “Lady of the Enchanted Truck Stop Shit House”, make sure to let us all know:) It should be something absolutely beautiful too:) so it becomes viral and we can see it all over the place:)

  3. I’m already putting some thought into “The Lady of the Enchanted Truck Stop Shit House”. Maybe a shawl? Or a floaty cardigan? Hmmmm…

  4. You are so funny. I followed your link here because I couldn’t see the pic on Ravelry – not all pics show when I’m at work – and this cracked me up! I agree with everything you say and cannot believe the cheek of some so called patterns! But please, what on earth are the B ig 6, and what is a camel toe??? ( My English is British:( )
    Francesca (Cikka on Ravelry)

Leave a Reply

