More MagCloud Prints

There are two more additions to my MagCloud arsenal:  Pearl Clutcher Magnum and Rutland!

ImageYou recently met Pearl Clutcher Magnum, but Rutland is from a few years ago.  I had high hopes for Rutland, because it knit up so beautifully.  When I first made it available, a lot of people jumped on it.  But as time progressed, knitters were finding horrendous errors in the pattern.  After helping a few people through the pattern, I sat down and start going through the numbers.  It was a nightmare.  

Image

I remember saving the pattern and coming back to it later, but the save didn’t take and half of the numbers reverted back to a previous save.  I didn’t catch that until it was too late.  While most people inquired politely, I did get a lot of hate mail about it.  I understand the frustration, but I don’t think “die in a fire” is an appropriate message over a knitting pattern.

Anyway.  I stepped away from designing for a while after that; making a few things here and there, but I lost my enthusiasm.  As you can see, I’m back in the saddle.  After Freyr and the two Pearl Clutchers, I decided that it was time to give Rutland an overhaul.

Yesterday, I sat in front of my computer with a pot of coffee and combed through the pattern and converted the entire thing into charts.  I love knitting from charts.  Not so in love with making them (especially when different sizes require their very own chart).  It’s worth it though.  All mistakes are stamped out, because it’s all right there in front of you.  

I’m confident that Rutland is now the pattern it should have been two years ago.  I hope people will give it another chance; it really is a lovely knit and I still wear mine daily.  I may even make another, soon.  Go check out the MagCloud pages and you can also find Pearl Clutcher Magnum and Rutland on Ravelry (click here for my designer page).

 

Leave a comment